The Moving Finger by Agatha ChristieThe Moving Finger by Agatha Christie

Genre: Mystery
Format: Ebook
Series: #4 in the Miss Marple series
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: 1942 Originally, 2009 This Edition
Pages: 181
Source: Library

The Book:
From the publisher:

Lymstock is a town with more than its share of scandalous secrets—a town where even a sudden outbreak of anonymous hate mail causes only a minor stir.

But all that changes when one of the recipients, Mrs. Symmington, commits suicide. Her final note says “I can’t go on,” but Miss Marple questions the coroner’s verdict of suicide. Soon nobody is sure of anyone—as secrets stop being shameful and start becoming deadly.

My Thoughts:
The book opens with an injured Jerry Burton, whose doctor recommends he spend his rehabilitation time in a small town in the country. So the he and and his sister Joanna rent a house in the little village of Lymstock. So much for peace and quiet.

When the anonymous letters seem to lead to a suicide Jerry and the local investigator start working together to find out who is behind the letters. Pretty soon almost everyone in the village is a viable suspect.

Miss Marple doesn’t appear until near the end of the story. The sleuthing up to that point is done and told by Jerry.

It was a fun fairly typical Christie book. Lots of light humor mixed in with the murder investigation.

3.5 stars Rating 3.5/5