1022 Evergreen Place by Debbie Macomber

Genre: Fiction
Series: #10 in the Cedar Cove series
Publication Date: 2010
Pages: 366
Challenges: none
Source: eGalley provided by publisher through NetGalley
(Today is the release day for this book)

The Short Version:
Checking in with the residents of Cedar Cove finds some relationships teetering on the edge and a bit of a mystery about some old letters found under the floorboards.

Why I Read It:
It was time to catch up on this series.

The Book
In this 10th visit to the small Washington town of Cedar Cove, Macomber once again takes existing characters through the next few months of their lives. Familiar characters return as well as a few new acquaintences.

Mack McAfee and Mary Jo Wyse are on a mission to find out who wrote the love letters they found under the floorboards of their duplex. They were written in 1944 by a soldier preparing for the D-Day invasion. Will they be able to identify this man and the sweetheart to whom he was writing? Did he survive and why were his letters left under the floor?

Mary Jo’s brother Linc and his new bride are happy, but his new father-in-law certainly isn’t. Will he succeed in breaking up Linc’s marriage?

Gallery owner Will Jefferson is determined to forge a relationship with artist Shirley Bliss and just can’t imagine she might not want the same thing.

These and other friends from Cedar Cove continue the stories begun in earlier books in the series.

My Thoughts:
Reading this series is like sitting down for a cup of tea with an old friend and catching up on the goings on around town. It’s a series that takes a slight focus shift with every book to concentrate on a handful of people from among the many that series followers have met through the years. There are always a few appearances by old friends, often just enough to keep the reader up to date with storylines that may now be background to those in the current book. It really feels like visiting and having a chance to catch up on the latest news.

In almost every book there is a very minor mystery that is solved. This time around it’s finding out who really wrote the letters that Mack and Mary Jo found under the floor and whether or not they or relatives are alive who might want the letters. That storyline allows a bit of a history lesson for the younger generation of characters in the series who are a couple of generations removed from those who experienced World War II.

As usual some of the outcomes of the storylines are quite predictable, but Macomber doesn’t let every story reach a happy ending, at least not right away. By the end of the book some relationships are happily moving forward and others may be in for some troubled patches ahead. Of course, we’ll have to wait for next fall and the 11th book in the series to find out what happens next.

Rating 3/5